Baguio: Just like 40 years ago…

Of all the wonderful places in the Philippines, Baguio which is also known as the Summer Capital, will always be in the list of summer destinations. Well, who would not want to escape the hot weather in Manila and enjoy ‘little America’ in a matter of six-hour drive?

I have been to Baguio many times. And every time I visit, I enjoy everything the place has to offer. From beautiful tourist spots to chilly climate to delicious food. And of course, the trip would not be complete without a souvenir photo with the famous lion’s head along Kennon Road and the two St. Bernard dogs in Mines View Park! But what really made this trip to the City of Pines special was the people I was with as I appreciate nature’s beauty!

Well, what’s more interesting than having tour guides who give you vivid pictures of how Baguio was in the early 70’s? Thank goodness I have grandparents who love to tell stories of long ago! My Lolo and Lola love Baguio. It was part of the many beautiful chapters of their love life. My Lolo told us that they used to go to this lovely place on an ordinary day just to relax and spend time together as a couple. But hey, my Lola was always the driver and Lolo was the one sitting pretty on the passenger seat! How cool was that, huh?

This trip opened the curtains that cover my grandparents mushy and funny love story. As we drove from one place to another, they would tell us their experiences back then. Stories of how they first met and courtship and breakups and their wedding and marriage life and fights and quarrels and arrival of each child and raising a big family. And that’s when it hit me. This aged couple went through a lot to build a wonderful family. Now I look at them differently. I don’t know if I ever got a chance to tell them how much I appreciate and love them but at least I make them feel I really do. And so I made the most out of this trip to show them love and gratitude. They are a big part of the reason why I am where I am right now. I owe it to them that I grew up to be a God-fearing and family-oriented person.

So here are some photos I got from my grandmom’s dilapidated album and the new ones from our recent trip 😉 Spot the differences?

The Mansion is the official summer residence of the President of the Philippines. It is located across Wright Park.

This shot was taken right across The Mansion.

These photos were taken at Botanical Garden. There were statues of nude women carrying two children. Lolo was joking about it. He said some 40 years ago it was just the woman, and now she already had babies! =D

This was taken at Mines View Park. There was an observation deck and you can have a breathtaking view of the surrounding mountains. Hmmm… Look how beautiful my grandmother is!

Still sweet as ever….

Taken at the Philippine Military Academy.

They say the good thing about photographs is that the people in it may change but the memories stay the same no matter how long it was. Well, the people in these photos changed physically, challenged and tested by time, made stronger by obstacles. They may have changed, but their love for each other stayed the same. I love you so much Tatay Elias and Nanay Maring!

___________________________________________________

Sincerely Mheg

3 thoughts on “Baguio: Just like 40 years ago…

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Places I want to visit in the Philippines | Sincerely Me

What do you think?

